top of page
weboldal háttérkép.png

ojas,tejas and prana

In Āyurveda each of the tridosha and their comprising elements have a fine and subtle essence in addition to the subdoshas referenced above. This essence relates to the more subtle of the two elements that primarily compose each dosha.

  • For Kapha dosha and the water element it is called Ojas.

  • For Pitta dosha and the fire element it is called Tejas.

  • For Vāta dosha and the ether element it is called Prāna.

Some of the primary functions of Ojas, Tejas, and Prāna are as follows: Ojas

  • Maintains immunity of bodily tissues; protective energy.

  • Vitality, luster of eyes, glow of skin, subtle substance of the aura

  • Compassion, contentment, love, clarity, expansion of consciousness.Keeps joints in place.

  • Keeps doshas in their sites.

  • Maintains quality & quantity of dhatus, malas & doshas.

  • Nourishes sensory perception.


  • What gives us strength, nutrition, tone of muscles, healthy glow and luster.

  • The energy of digestion and transformation of everthing we take in and experience.

  • Cellular intelligence and metabolic activity.

  • Governs body temperature.

  • Color perception.

  • Color of complexion, eyes & skin.

  • Tactile perception (touch, pressure, pain, temperature).

  • Cellular division and multiplication, cellular permeability of membranes.

  • Upward movement: going beyond fear and confusion.

  • Stimulates udāna vayu which raises intelligence and levels of consciousness.


  • Respiration, oxygenation, circulation, keeps cells alive.

  • Sustains our life force.

  • All sensory and motor functions.

  • All mental activity, flow of communication.

  • The intake of food, water and air.

  • The bridge between body, mind & consciousness.

  • Holds all particles together.

  • Governs the biological functions of ojas and tejas.

62 megtekintés0 hozzászólás


bottom of page